HomeEducationWhat is the difference between CompTIA security SY0-601 and SY0-701?

What is the difference between CompTIA security SY0-601 and SY0-701?

Introduction to CompTIA Security

Welcome to the world of cybersecurity! In today’s digital age, where data breaches and online threats have become commonplace, ensuring the security of our networks and systems is more crucial than ever. And that’s where CompTIA Security certifications come into play. With their reputable credentials, these certifications validate your expertise in securing information and provide a solid foundation for a successful career in cybersecurity.

But wait! CompTIA has recently released two new versions of their popular Security+ certification exams: SY0-601 and SY0-701. So what exactly sets them apart? Which one should you choose to sharpen your security skills? Don’t worry – we’ve got you covered! In this blog post, we’ll explore the key differences between CompTIA Security SY0-601 and SY0-701 exams, helping you make an informed decision about which path to take on your cybersecurity journey. So buckle up as we dive deeper into these exciting certification options!

Overview of SY0-601 and SY0-701 exams

The comptia security+ sy0-701 certification is one of the most sought-after credentials in the cybersecurity industry. It validates the skills and knowledge required to secure networks, systems, and devices.

When it comes to the CompTIA Security+ exam, there are two versions currently available: SY0-601 and SY0-701. Both exams cover similar security concepts but with some notable differences.

The SY0-601 exam focuses on core security technologies such as network security, identity management, cryptography, secure application development, and cloud security. This version also includes topics related to threat intelligence analysis and vulnerability assessment.

On the other hand, the SY0-701 exam builds upon the foundation established by SY0-601 but delves deeper into advanced security techniques and emerging technologies. It emphasizes areas like automation and orchestration of security processes, incident response procedures, governance frameworks for compliance management, risk mitigation strategies, and more.

Exam format and topics covered in SY0-701

The SY0-701 exam is the latest version of CompTIA’s Security+ certification. It was released in November 2020, replacing the previous version, SY0-601. This new exam is designed to test your knowledge and skills in various areas of cybersecurity.

The format of the SY0-701 exam consists of multiple-choice questions, performance-based questions, and drag-and-drop questions. These different question types allow you to demonstrate your understanding and application of security concepts.

When it comes to topics covered in the SY0-701 exam, you can expect a wide range of subjects related to cybersecurity. Some key areas include network security, threats and vulnerabilities, identity management, access control models, cryptography principles, risk management strategies, incident response procedures, and compliance regulations.

Which exam should you take?

Which exam should you take? This is a question that many individuals interested in pursuing a career in cybersecurity may find themselves asking. The decision between the CompTIA Security SY0-601 and SY0-701 exams can be a daunting one, as both certifications offer valuable knowledge and skills.

The SY0-601 exam covers foundational topics such as network security, threats and vulnerabilities, cryptography, identity and access management, risk management, and more. It provides a comprehensive understanding of security concepts and principles.

On the other hand, the SY0-701 exam builds upon the foundation established by its predecessor. It delves deeper into advanced topics like cloud security, mobile devices and applications security, incident response procedures, secure coding practices, virtualization technologies’ impact on security controls – just to name a few.

When deciding which exam to take it’s essential to consider your current level of expertise within the field of cybersecurity. If you’re new to this domain or have limited experience with industry-standard practices – starting with SY0-601 might be beneficial for establishing solid foundational knowledge.


Both the CompTIA Security SY0-601 and SY0-701 exams are valuable certifications for individuals looking to establish a career in cybersecurity. While they share some similarities, there are distinct differences that set them apart click to find out more.

The SY0-601 exam is the latest version of the certification and focuses on core security concepts and skills. It covers topics such as risk management, identity and access management, cryptography, network security, and more. This exam validates your ability to identify potential vulnerabilities and implement appropriate security measures.

On the other hand, the SY0-701 exam builds upon the foundation of SY0-601 but delves deeper into advanced security techniques. It covers topics like cloud-based systems deployment models, automation/scripting technologies for system hardening purposes, implementing secure protocols within different types of networks or platforms (e.g., IoT devices), integrating threat intelligence sources into existing systems for real-time defense against attacks, etc.

When deciding which exam to take, consider your level of experience and expertise in cybersecurity. If you’re just starting or have limited experience in the field, it may be best to begin with the SY0-601 exam to build a strong foundation of knowledge. However,
if you already have significant experience in cybersecurity or want to challenge yourself further,
the SY0-701 exam can provide an opportunity to showcase your advanced skills.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular